Our History

The Consortium for Comparative Research on Regional Integration and Social Cohesion (RISC) was established in November 2007 when the directors of socially conscious research institutes from Europe, North America and South America met in Luxembourg to participate in a conference on “Social Cohesion in Europe and the Americas.” Since that time, the consortium has expanded its membership into Africa and Asia and consolidated its scientific activities through annual international conferences, a book series, a scientific journal, thematic workshops/symposium grants for young scholar mobility and professorial exchanges and academic prizes. Starting 2020, RISC has evolved into RISC-RISE (Regional Integration and Social Cohesion-Social Elevation) which integrates community engagement, citizen science and policy-impact into its mission.

Our Objectives

Promote regional integration as a way to address socio-ecological vulnerability in two ways:

1) Establish “regional integration” through dialogue between academics, stakeholders and government officials from different world regions in reflections on common socio-ecological problems.

2) Investigate how regional integration can provide innovative strategies to address transnational factors that contribute to local socio-ecological problems.

3) Present proposed innovative solutions to socio-ecological problems to stakeholders and policy-makers.


Executive Committee

Day-to-day activities are run by the Executive Committee.

Co-President (RISC)

Prof. Suzanne Graham

Department of Politics and IR

University of Johannesburg, South Africa

Co-President (RISE)

Prof. Harlan Koff

Department of Geography and Spatial Planning

University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg

Executive Director

Prof. Victoria Graham

Department of Political Sciences

University of Pretoria, South Africa

Associate Director

Dr. Sandra Häbel


Scientific Committee

Dr. Suzanne Graham, University of Johannesburg, South Africa

Dr. Victoria Graham, University of Pretoria, South Africa

Dr. Sandra Häbel, RISC-RISE, South Africa

Dr. Edith Kauffer, CIESAS Sureste, Mexico

Dr. Carmen Maganda, INECOL, Mexico

Dr. Harlan Koff, Université du Luxembourg, Luxembourg

Dr. Anja Nygren, University of Helsinki, Finland

Dr. Sarah Brooks (interim SC member)

Dr. Claudia Puerta Silva (interim SC member)

Advisory Board

Annie Chikwanha

Tula Dlamini 

Mariana Infante Villaoel

Dino Koff

Elisa Koff-Ginsborg

Eric Lampertz

Marja Lehto

Corrado Marcetti

Jens Martens

Juliana Merçonissues 

Miriam Ramos-Escobedo

Ricardo Sandoval Minero

Sherie Rae Simms

Lina Soiri

Djénéba Traoré

Jukka Vaananen

Georgina Vidriales Chan